What is a 301 Redirect and When Should You Use One?

When moving to another place, taking all your belongings is not the only important thing. It is also important to share your new address with anyone who visits you or regularly sends you mail and packages. Otherwise, they will keep visiting you at the former address and not reach you without any explanation.

A similar thing happens when you change the URL of your website pages. If you move your website from one URL to another, you must ensure that your visitors still reach the desired destination. For the landline, you are the one who informs your friends about your move. In the tech world, 301 Redirect does it for you.

What is a 301 Redirect?

A 301 redirect is an HTTP status code that a web browser sends to a server. It is a signal to a server that informs the server about the change of web page location. If an old location (URL link) is typed, with the help of 301 redirects, the visitor is immediately redirected to a new location. Also, a 301 redirect, with its signals, informs search engines about the change of a location and permanent redirect so that they can treat a new URL like the old one. It means that this change does not affect the SEO ranking of a website. The redirection happens fast that a visitor is not aware of it; he just sees the wanted content.

Should you use the 301 Redirect?

Well, if you want to move your content from one location to another, change the domain, recreate a page, or add an SSL certificate to your website, yes, a 301 redirection is your move! A 301 redirect does all the job for you painlessly, without problems, content loss, or harm to your SEO ranking. Furthermore, if your website is built on a WordPress platform, this redirection can be done over a WordPress dashboard using simple and secure plugins.

Sometimes your website needs a reset…

If you encounter some problems with your WordPress webpage even before deciding to apply a 301 Redirect, the solution for you is a WP Reset plugin. This plugin resets your website and returns everything to the default installation state without any change to files. It is a safe plugin that acts fast, and with its mechanisms, it never accidentally loses your data. It creates snapshots of your website that can return you to a previous state if needed. So, if, in any case, you did reset and regret it, you can recover it by restoring a previously taken snapshot. A WP reset speeds up a website’s deployment, testing, and recovery. It removes all posts and pages but does not touch media files, plugins, or themes applied to a website.

And there should be security and speed…

Online data is sensitive, and you need to take strong acts to protect it. We recommend a WP Force SSL plugin that helps you with an SSL certificate, its installation, and monitoring. For a fast and painless website redirection, we recommend WP 301 Redirects. It is one of the simplest and most functional redirection plugins that offers smooth redirections, avoids bad 404 pages, and scans and verifies all links not to harm your traffic and even boost it.